Beijing Braised Beef

Beijing Braised Beef

Beijing Braised Beef

Ingredients:
400 g frying beef steak, cut into stripes
3 sweet yellow mini peppers, cut into bitesize chunks
5-6 shallots, cut into wedges
2 garlic cloves, chopped
2 slices fresh ginger
4-5 tbsp hoisin sauce
2 tbsp soy sauce
700 ml stock
2 whole star anise
1 tbsp granutated sugar
3 tbsp oil
black pepper

Marinade beef in 2 tbsp of hoisin sauce for 1-2 hours. Heat a non-stick frying pan or wok over high heat. Remove beef from marinade and fry for 5 minutes turning occasionally. Then add shallots, peppers and garlic and continue to stir-fry them for 3-4 minutes until they are brown. Then transfer all into medium size casserole dish. Add 2-3 tbsp of hoisin sauce, soy sauce, sugar, star anise, slices of ginger and stock. Bring to the boil and then turn the heat down and simmer for 1 hour. Stir occasionally.

Serve with rice and your fave green vegetables.

Bon appetit.

One thought on “Beijing Braised Beef

  1. Wow as I said I’m impressed by the blog, nice pics and idea at all. I keep my fingers crossed!!!
    I’m going to make it next weekend (the Beijing braised beef) and I share with my feelings soon Wolfie ;)

Comments are closed.